About NACA

Information about the NACA Secretariat and key documents.

Creative Commons Attribution.

In this collection

Directory of research and development centres and other partners that participate in the Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific.

Directory of NACA's staff members and their contact details.

The Technical Advisory Committee is a body of independent experts that make recommendations on development of the NACA Work Programme. The committee meets bi-annually.

The Governing Council is NACA's peak policy body, consisting of representatives from member governments.

Work Plan 2015+

The research and development mandate of NACA is addressed through five thematic work programmes and three cross-cutting work programmes that support sustainable aquaculture and aquatic resource management in the region.

Agreement on the Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia and the Pacific

Government membership of NACA is via accession to the NACA Agreement, an international treaty. The agreement also provides for associate membership by intergovernmental organisations and donor agencies. Current member governments of NACA are Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, I.R. Iran, Korea (DPR), Lao PDR, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

The Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific is an intergovernmental organisation that promotes rural development through sustainable aquaculture and aquatic resources management. NACA seeks to improve the livelihoods of rural people, reduce poverty and increase food security. The ultimate beneficiaries of NACA are farmers and rural communities. NACA implements development assistance projects in partnership with research centres, governments, development agencies, farmer associations and other organisations.


NACA implements collaborative development assistance projects on issues of regional interest. Individual projects draw heavily on the personnel and facilities of participating centres in member states. Projects are essentially implemented by participating centres with the Secretariat acting as a coordinating body. NACA supports technical exchange, capacity building, institutional strengthening and policies for sustainable aquaculture development. Network partners include research centres, member governments, farmer associations, development agencies and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.